Song, by Toad

Posts tagged king dj


Okay, We Can Start Talking About Christmas Now

Yes, seriously, I am prepared to allow Christmas talk from now on. You must all be so grateful.

Generally I am pretty pro-Christmas, actually, it’s just that I have a list of demands about how people are and are not allowed to celebrate it. No houses festooned in idiotic lights, for example. And most particularly, no starting before my birthday. My birthday is in late November, so it shouldn’t be a fucking trial to keep the Christmas shit on hold before then, but in the fucking UK it’s starting before the end of fucking September in some places.

At least in the States they have Thanksgiving, an annual celebration of the glorious genocide of their indigenous peoples, to delay matters until November, but here we have no such restraint. Ideally the whole business should take place only in December, as far as I am concerned, but I am a generous and open-minded man and am prepared to tolerate some overspill into the later days of November, but absolutely NOT any earlier than the 20th.

One of my other rules is absolutely no Christmas music. It just doesn’t work, frankly. Mostly the music itself is saccharine, shit and completely unlistenable. Alternatively, if it’s the kind of stuff I might actually enjoy listening to, the generally air of glumness, needle and morose bitterness doesn’t really suit the Christmas spirit. Or worse, you get the kind of bands who make music I like completely ruining their sound by forging this unholy alliance with chirpy wholesomeness, either in the forced, awkward lyrics or a horrific bastardisation of their normal sound to incorporate the sort of hellish elements which make Christmas music so unbearable in the first place.

There is music I prefer to listen to around Christmas time, but it is not Christmas music in any sense, more stuff which suits the dark and the cold and cosy evenings indoors with Mrs. Toad.

Where am I going with this rather misanthropic ramble, you ask? Well actually, believe it or not, I am going to recommend a Christmas record to you. You all knew that was coming, right?

If anyone was to make a Christmas album and have it not packed full of cringeworthy awfulness, my bet would be the DIY music pals I have made in Manchester over the last few years. Haus of Pins, which is a label run by PINS the band, are releasing just such a compilation and for a change I am genuinely intrigued by the promise of some festive tunes. Post War Glamour Girls, Brown Brogues, September Girls and PINS themselves are all contributing to it, and if anyone can make this good it’s that lot.

There is still, I have to confess, a slight sense of trepidation, but fuck it, it’s Christmas, let’s see what it’s like shall we!



Toadcast #252 – The Partycast

 Don’t worry, the chances of me actually playing party music on a Toadcast are about as good as Lana Del Rey getting some semblance of life back into that blank, empty, defeated gaze of hers.

No, in reality this is called the Partycast because we are having the label Christmas Party tomorrow at Summerhall, and so tomorrow I shall be running around all day collecting a PA, and shitloads of absolutely awful tinsel and dreadful Christmas decorations.

Also, rather tragically. I shall be trying my very best (and probably failing) not to get too utterly obliterated because I will have to be up early in the morning to return the bloody PA and get all our merch stuff through to Chambre 69 to try and sell to people of Glasgow in vast, lucrative quantities. But umm… well I think it’s time to accept that I am going to feel like a menstruating badger on Saturday morning.

Direct download: Toadcast #252 – The Partycast

Subscribe to the Toadcasts on iTunes

Subscribe to the Toadcasts on Mixcloud

01. Francobollo – Basketball (00.17)
02. Rick Redbeard – Cold as Clay (The Grave) (06.25)
03. Lil Daggers – Faces & Names (13.21)
04. King Post Kitsch – Every Face (19.29)
05. These Brittle Bones – Blood + Snow (24.09)
06. Matthew E. White – Big Love (30.57)
07. Dolfinz – Yeah Right (38.25)
08. Slowcoaches – Proper Job (40.39)
09. Silverbacks – Orange Light (44.56)
10. King DJ – Hold Me Down (50.14)
11. WTCHS – Adult Crimes (54.42)


King DJ

King DJ is the solo project of a certain Mark from Brown Brogues, although I get the impression calling it a project might be slightly over-stating the level of seriousness with which this stuff is treated.

Not that it’s throwaway or anything, more that having asked him about it, Mark himself replied that it is simply something which he keeps tucked away on the sidelines that he can work on with no pressure, no goals and without the practical restrictions of writing for a guitar-and-drums two-piece. King DJ is something which is intended to work as well either performed solo or with a full band.

Listening to U Gon And Dun It, the second song on this single, available either digitally or on cassette from Haus of Pins, it’s hard to see exactly what is happening beyond the very simple structure mentioned before, although Hold Me Down is definitely denser and fuller than you’d expect from a Brown Brogues tune. They have a sort of dirty malevolence to them, where as Brown Brogues tend to come with a more raucous clatter, and you can definitely hear both the kinship and the differences when listening to these tunes.

I don’t mean to sound like I am putting pressure on a project designed to alleviate it, but I definitely reckon there is some mileage to be had here.  It’s related, clearly, but also obviously different to Brown Brogues’ stuff and I really do reckon it bears a bit more exploring.  Dirty, nasty and awesome.